G1 Climax 30 preview: Dissecting the favorites to win

Tetsuya Naito

The 30th edition of the most prestigious tournament in pro-wrestling will take place from September 18 to October 18. It’s the G1 Climax and it will take place in a period of 30 days.

The participants for blocks A and B have been also announced. So let’s look at who’s competing and who the favorites are to win their respective blocks.

The winner of the G1 Climax will get a title shot opportunity against the IWGP heavyweight champion on January 4 at Wrestle Kingdom.

Block A

  • Kota Ibushi (Winner of last year’s edition)
  • Jeff Cobb
  • Kazuchika Okada
  • Tomohiro Ishii
  • Will Ospreay
  • Shingo Takagi
  • Minoru Suzuki
  • Taichi (IWGP tag team champion).
  • Jay White
  • Yujiro Takahashi

On most G1 Climax editions, the winner of the tournament comes out of the block that does not contain the IWGP heavyweight champion. However, there are exceptions to this rule as we saw last year.

Kazuchika Okada is indeed the favorite to win the block and tournament this year. Kota Ibushi is also another favorite to win the G1 again. A wrestler that could be considered a favorite as well is Shingo Takagi.

In terms of the foreigners, Jay White and Will Ospreay are the favorites and will try to join Kenny Omega as the only foreigners to win this prestigious tournament.

Block B

  • Hiroshi Tanahashi
  • Juice Robinson
  • Hirooki Goto
  • Toru Yano (KOPW Winner)
  • Tetsuya Naito (IWGP heavyweight & Intercontinental champion)
  • Zack Sabre Jr. (IWGP tag team champion)
  • EVIL

This is quite an interesting block considering the IWGP heavyweight champion Tetsuya Naito is in it. The favorites to win this block are SANADA, Tanahashi, and the champion himself, Naito.

The B block feels like a wild card and the possibilities are opened to win the block and win the G1 climax.

Tagged with: