The Rocco & Ryan MMA Show: Kattar-Ige & Figueiredo-Benavidez 2 Previews

Episode nine of The Rocco & Ryan MMA Show is a jam-packed edition as the guys recap UFC 251 and preview the next two events on Fight Island starting tomorrow night with a featherweight main event between New Englander Calvin Kattar and Dan Ige.

UFC 251 was one of the most talked-about events in a very long time and the fighters did not disappoint as fans and PPV buyers witnessed three competitive title fights and an overall exciting evening of fights. The main event saw Kamaru Usman retain his welterweight title by way of a unanimous decision over challenger Jorge Masvidal in a grueling stylistic battle between the two foes.

The co-main event was riddled by controversy due to the judges’ scorecards. Many people felt former champion Max Holloway deserved the nod, but the judges cage-side instead leaned towards the champion in Alexander Volkanovski as he retained his belt via split decision.

The bantamweight vacant title was decided as well. We saw Petr Yan put on a show and wear down Jose Aldo late to win via referee stoppage and stake claim as the new king of the 135-pound division.

The guys yet again had winning records at UFC 251. Anthony Rocco Martin went (4-1) bringing his overall record to (15-5). Martin holds a one-game lead on Ryan Jarrell who went (3-2) and now has a record of (14-6). The difference was the featherweight bout and Martin picking Volkanovski to win.

Now the guys turn to the two upcoming UFC events on Fight Island and give their picks. In tomorrow’s main event we’ll see Kattar vs. Ige. On Saturday, a title fight rematch at flyweight will go down between Deiveson Figueiredo and Joseph Benavidez.


Wednesday – Calvin Kattar, Ryan Benoit, Cody Stamann, Molly McCann, Abdul Razak Alhassan

Saturday – Deiveson Figueiredo, Kelvin Gastelum, Marc Diakiese, Ariane Lipski, Alexandre Pantoja


Wednesday – Calvin Kattar, Ryan Benoit, Jimmie Rivera, Molly McCann, Abdul Razak Alhassan

Saturday – Joseph Benavidez, Kelvin Gastelum, Marc Diakiese, Luana Carolina, Alexandre Pantoja