The Scrap’s 2020 Tag Team of the Year: Kenny Omega & “Hangman” Adam Page

Kenny Omega and “Hangman” Adam Page reluctantly became tag team partners and won the AEW World Tag Team Championships in January when they beat SCU. Their reign lasted 228 days.

After winning the titles in Jan 2020, the team would go on to defend the titles nine times during their reign. Defending and retaining the titles against the likes of The Young Bucks, Jurassic Express, Lucha Brothers, Dark Order, Private Party and Best Friends.

They would also compete as The Elite (with the Young Bucks) in three matches during their reign. The standout match was The Stadium Stampede where The Elite w/ Matt Hardy defeated The Inner Circle (Chris Jericho, Jake Hager, Sammy Guevara, Ortiz & Santana). Kenny would get the win for the team when he pinned Guevara that night.

The team had their issues as Page appeared to have a drinking problem and seemed to distance himself from Omega and The Young Bucks.

It wasn’t until All Out in September that Omega and Page finally dropped the titles, when they were defeated by FTR (Cash Wheeler & Dax Harwood). After the match, Omega was clearly frustrated and made it clear that he was done teaming with Page.

Hangman wanted to resume tagging with Omega but Omega shifted his focus toward being a singles wrestler again, Page followed suit and both of them were placed in the tournament to determine the No. 1 contender for the AEW World title.

Kenny Omega would defeat his former tag team partner “Hangman” Page in the tournament final to determine the No. 1 contender for the AEW World Championship at Full Gear. Then later, Omega would defeat Jon Moxley on December 2, to win the AEW World Championship for the first time with the help of Don Callis, as he turned heel.

It was a great year by Kenny Omega and “Hangman” Adam Page as the longest reigning tag team champs in AEW history. For those reasons above and plenty more, they are The Scrap’s 2020 Tag Team of the Year.

Honrable Mentions: Street Profits, The Young Bucks and FTR.