WWE Royal Rumble Predictions

It is officially WrestleMania season, and The Royal Rumble will kick us off on the Road to WrestleMania 35.

This year’s Rumble takes place inside Chase Field, home of the Arizona Diamondbacks. Championships will be on the line, and both the men and women will battle it out in the traditional 30-competitor, over-the-top-rope Royal Rumble match on January 27.

As we know, championship opportunities are on the line, so we wanted to make predictions on the potential winners to headline this year’s WrestleMania at the MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey.

Check our staff predictions below.

Men’s Royal Rumble-

Confirmed entrants: John Cena, Dean Ambrose, Seth Rollins, Samoa Joe, Drew McIntyre, Kofi Kingston, Big E, Xavier Woods, Apollo Crews, Baron Corbin, Elias, Jinder Mahal, Bobby Lashley, Jeff Hardy, Andrade “Cien” Almas, Titus O’Neil, R-Truth (No. 30).

Joel: If he’s not injured, I have a feeling that John Cena will win this year’s Royal Rumble. Something tells me that Cena is preparing for his official retirement from the sport, and becoming a 17x champion before he hangs it up for good is on the horizon. Cena lost the fatal four-way which put Finn Balor vs Brock Lesnar at The Rumble, so it’s evident the build up will happen with a Rumble win to headline WrestleMania one last time.

Choice to win: John Cena

Kristyn: I feel like Dean Ambrose is going to come from behind and win it this year. He recently returned to in-ring competition and I feel they had him drop the title to Lashley, for something bigger at WrestleMania.

Choice to win: Dean Ambrose

Connor: I want to say that John Cena will win this Royal Rumble and earn his 17th championship just as Joel has predicted, but I feel like Cena is not quite done yet. I feel that there has been much title swapping for Seth Rollins recently. He has lost and regained the Intercontinental Championship a number of times in recent months and there is so much drama and build up between the rivalry that has emerged between Rollins, Lashley, and former Shield tag team partner, Dean Ambrose. This trio could shape up to be a huge potential match at WrestleMania.

Choice to win: Seth Rollins

Women’s Royal Rumble-

Confirmed entrants: Ember Moon, Natalya, Bayley, Ruby Riott, Sarah Logan, Liv Morgan, Mandy Rose, Sonya Deville, Alicia Fox, Zelina Vega, Charlotte Flair, Naomi, Tamina, Peyton Royce, Billie Kay, Dana Brooke, Lana, Nia Jax, Nikki Cross, Alexa Bliss, Carmella (No. 30).

Joel: Ever since they booked Banks vs Rousey and Becky Lynch vs Asuka for The Royal Rumble, it was evident the WWE is setting up for Charlotte Flair to be this year’s Royal Rumble winner. The fans want Lynch vs Rousey at WrestleMania, however, after rumors circulated that Charlotte was told she would headline WrestleMania, it makes me believe this is how they will put her in that spot. Flair is the Cena of the women’s division, so it’s bound to happen. Just watch.

Choice to win: Charlotte Flair

Kristyn: Although I do have to catch up on WWE, I think Nia Jax is going to take it this year. She’s powerful and I think the fact that she is teamed up with Tamina, she won’t get eliminated by all the women teaming up against her. I love her, so I hope she’s the last woman remaining.

Choice to win: Nia Jax

Connor: This is a really difficult decision as there are so many women with hype behind them and great potential storylines. Nia Jax winning to face Ronda, Ruby Riot is always a relevant heel but has yet to taste gold, and Charlotte Flair is never far away from the main event. There are only a few women who have proven to be able to put on a show at WrestleMania, and Flair is one of them. The rivalry between Charlotte and Becky is unreal, Charlotte also beat the, then undefeated, Auska at WrestleMania last year. This makes the match work no matter who is the SmackDown Women’s Champion after this weekend.

Choice to win: Charlotte Flair

Make sure to follow The Scrap News (@thescrapnews) on Twitter.
Follow our writers Joel Torres (@joelisacoolkid), Connor Rogowsky (@rogowskyc), and Kristyn Bliss (@kbreezay16).